Error loading page.
Try refreshing the page. If that doesn't work, there may be a network issue, and you can use our self test page to see what's preventing the page from loading.
Learn more about possible network issues or contact support for more help.

No Child of Mine

ebook
From internationally bestselling British author Susan Lewis comes an unflinching, thoroughly suspenseful novel—perfect for readers of Jodi Picoult—about the darkest secrets a family can hide.

Alex Lake's life is centered on helping people. Her job as a social worker in a British seaside town is more than a career: It's the very essence of who she is. And though there are frustrations, Alex takes to heart the rewards of placing a child in a safe and loving home. But when she encounters three-year-old Ottilie Wade, Alex is completely unprepared for the effect the sweet, shy little girl has on her. Though on the surface Ottilie seems to want for nothing—she's perfectly healthy and lives in a very nice home—she's mysteriously silent and asocial. Alex knows that something is not right in the Wade house. And the deeper she looks into the case, the more Alex comes to feel that she and Ottilie are being drawn together by fate.

As disturbing evidence mounts and Alex's superiors seem unwilling to help, Alex knows she will have to risk everything—her job and the life she loves—to save Ottilie. But Alex will also have to wrestle the demons of her own past before she can secure a future for this child in need.
BONUS: This edition includes an excerpt from Susan Lewis's Don't Let Me Go.
Look for special features inside. Join the Random House Reader's Circle for author chats and more.

Expand title description text
Publisher: Random House Publishing Group

OverDrive Read

  • ISBN: 9780345547767
  • Release date: May 14, 2013

EPUB ebook

  • ISBN: 9780345547767
  • File size: 3021 KB
  • Release date: May 14, 2013

Loading
Loading

Formats

OverDrive Read
EPUB ebook

subjects

Fiction Literature

Languages

English

From internationally bestselling British author Susan Lewis comes an unflinching, thoroughly suspenseful novel—perfect for readers of Jodi Picoult—about the darkest secrets a family can hide.

Alex Lake's life is centered on helping people. Her job as a social worker in a British seaside town is more than a career: It's the very essence of who she is. And though there are frustrations, Alex takes to heart the rewards of placing a child in a safe and loving home. But when she encounters three-year-old Ottilie Wade, Alex is completely unprepared for the effect the sweet, shy little girl has on her. Though on the surface Ottilie seems to want for nothing—she's perfectly healthy and lives in a very nice home—she's mysteriously silent and asocial. Alex knows that something is not right in the Wade house. And the deeper she looks into the case, the more Alex comes to feel that she and Ottilie are being drawn together by fate.

As disturbing evidence mounts and Alex's superiors seem unwilling to help, Alex knows she will have to risk everything—her job and the life she loves—to save Ottilie. But Alex will also have to wrestle the demons of her own past before she can secure a future for this child in need.
BONUS: This edition includes an excerpt from Susan Lewis's Don't Let Me Go.
Look for special features inside. Join the Random House Reader's Circle for author chats and more.

Expand title description text